How To Mute Someone On Facebook Messenger – Facebook has introduced a new Facebook mute conversation button on Facebook Messenger. When using the social media platform, you may not want to be distracted by beeps and notifications from people messaging you on Facebook. The most common reason that someone would delete and specifically mute a Facebook Messenger chat would be due to group chats.

Often people are brought together by friends on Facebook when trying to organize a Facebook event (birthday party, work conference, music festival, etc.). Although the information can be useful, there are usually a few chatty Facebook members who comment and type until the repeated message alert sound makes you literally want to throw your laptop out of the window. Muting a conversation on Facebook Messenger allows this stream to act silently, without having to offend anyone by telling them to stop chatting or deleting them.

How To Mute Someone On Facebook Messenger

The idea behind muting someone on Facebook means that you won’t receive notifications of new messages that have been sent. You may be wondering, if you mute someone on Facebook Messenger will they know? No, they won’t. This is partly of the point of the Facebook feature. There is no alert or hack on Facebook to know exactly who has muted you.

READ  Business Manager Facebook - Beginner's Setup

Muting someone on Facebook Messenger allows you to effectively ignore Facebook Messenger messages from that person. You won’t receive notifications when that person sends you a new message, but those messages will continue to be listed in your Facebook Messenger conversation list with a Mute icon next to them. Additionally, whoever you mute will not be notified, and will have no way to know, you’ve muted them.

Procedures to Mute Someone on Facebook Messenger

Case 1. click to open your existing Facebook Messenger conversation with the person you want to mute.

Case 2. click the name of that person along the top of the screen. An information screen for that person appears.

Case 3. click the “Mute” icon listed in the row of icons displayed directly beneath that person’s name and profile picture. The Mute icon looks like a bell. The Mute Notifications for This Conversation window is displayed.

Case 4. click to select the duration of time for which you want to mute notifications for your conversation with that person. You can choose from 15 minutes, 1 hour, 8 hours, 24 hours, or until you unmute them. click “OK” in the window after making your selection.

You’ll return to the information screen for that person, where you’ll now see the Mute button has turned into an Unmute button. You can return to this screen at any time and click “Unmute” to unmute that person.

READ  Online Shopping Sites with Free International Shipping - 20 Online Shopping Sites with Free Shipping

By Sunrise

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!