Community Engagement Exchange Program in USA 2022 – How to Apply

Posted by

Community Engagement Exchange Program in USA 2022 – The Community Engagement Exchange (CEE) Program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State with funding provided by the U.S. Government and supported in its implementation by IREX for Three-month U.S.-based practicum, Leadership and Civic Engagement Academy, Community Engagement Project (CEP) participants from around the world to learn about democracy and civic engagement while experiencing life in a new culture!

Community Engagement Exchange Program in USA 2022

The CEE Program will provide participants with the opportunity to learn about democracy and civic engagement while experiencing life in a new culture. Participants will engage in a Three-month U.S.-based practicum, attend the Leadership and Civic Engagement Academy, and work on a Community Engagement Project (CEP). The program is open to applicants, the application of the next cycle is now open click here to apply,

Apply for Scholarships in Canada 2022

The Fellowship Components include:

  • Three Month Practicum in the United States: The IREX matches CEE fellows to the Civil Society organizations throughout the united states. Designated Supervisors and peers support the fellows through a three-month, hands-on professional practicum.
  • Leadership and Civic Engagement Project (CEP): With the help of the U.S host organization and mentors, the CEE fellow design and plan a community engagement project which will carry out after they return home. Once a fellow departs the U.S, they put these projects into action in their home communities.
  • Community Engagement Project (CEP) Exchange: The Selected U.S host and CEE specialist will travel to a CEE Alumnus country and work collaboratively to support the fellow project implementation and bring back what they learn to strengthen communities across the United States of their home country.

Application Information

The Community Engagement Exchange program application will be open from Monday, November 15 through Friday, January 14 at 11:59 pm EST.

How to Apply for Community Engagement Exchange Program

The application process for Community Engagement Exchange Program 2022 is online. Upload all your required documents To apply. Follow this link to apply now.

Eligibility Requirements

The competition for the Community Engagement Exchange program is merit-based and is open to emerging civil society and community leaders who meet the criteria as follows:

  • You are between the ages of 21-28 at the time of application
  • You are a citizen of one of the eligible countries listed below
  • You have a minimum of two years of professional or volunteer experience at the time of application
  • You are living and working in your home country
  • Individuals with refugee status working on behalf of their home community may be given special consideration
  • You are working on a community engagement initiative in your home country, either in a professional or volunteer capacity, with a vision to pursue a career working to support civil society
  • You have a high level of proficiency in spoken and written English at the time of application
  • Semifinalists will be required to take or submit recent scores for a TOEFL or IELTS English language test
  • You are available to travel to the U.S. for three months
  • You are committed to returning to your home country to complete a Community Engagement Project (CEP)
  • You are not a citizen or permanent resident of the U.S. and have not applied for U.S. permanent residency within the past three years
  • You are eligible to receive a U.S. J-1 visa
  • Applicants who have participated in an exchange program sponsored by the U.S. Government must have fulfilled their two-year home residency requirement by the time of application
  • You are committed to returning to your home country for a minimum of two years after completing the program and
  • You are not a current IREX employee or consultant, or their immediate family member

Note: Applications that do not meet these eligibility requirements will be disqualified and will not be reviewed by the selection committee.

Eligible countries by region

Africa: Angola, Botswana, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe

East Asia and the Pacific: Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of the Marshall Islands, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste, and Vietnam

Europe and Eurasia: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia, Herzegovina, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Turkey, and Ukraine

Middle East and North Africa: Algeria, Egypt, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Syria, Tunisia, and West Bank/Palestinian Territories

South and Central Asia: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan

Western Hemisphere: Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Trinidad and Tobago, and Uruguay

Apply for British Council Online Courses Free

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *